Skip to content

PCP… important cooking ingredient or illegal narcotic?

March 31, 2010

Whoa.

Hi! I didn’t see you there.

It is so nice of you to join me on the Festival of Matzas! How was your sedar? Did you make it through the 4 cups of wine or grape juice?

I had the privilege of participating in the kibbutz sedar here at yechiam a few days ago. I joined about 150 other people. The sedar was nice.  Talented singers and musicians sang songs and a there was a theatrical rendition of One Little Goat.  The wine was plentiful and the potato side dish was so delicious that I may have hogged some of it to the detriment of the other people at the table.  My friend Stacey and I confirmed that there must of been some sort of Hallucinogen in it because by the time we finished the potatoes all the wine disappeared.  We don’t know where?? 😉

There were a few missing elements that I enjoy in our traditional Passover sedar.  Because things happen in 3’s, I have learned 3 things about Passover in Israel.
1) More guests does not equal more time needed to finish the sedar. This contradicts a 22 year assumption I had regarding the relationship between length of a sedar and number of participants. The sedar and meal took ~2 hours.  That’s it!
2) It is difficult to drink 4 cups of wine as quickly as this haggadah requires.  As well, there weren’t any blessings in the kibbutz haggadah.  If it wasn’t for the ten drops of wine for the ten commandments, I would not have known that the book I was reading actually commemorated the exodus from Egypt.  In fact, the word Egypt may not have been read at all and there are no paragraphs that begin, “and Rabbi Gamliel said…”

2a) the first 4 cups are the hardest to drink quickly. The following 4 cups are much quicker 😉

2b) No one wore a kippah.  Sign of the times!

3) when there’s no family, there’s no fun*. I spoke to a few people (hi fam fam!!) after my sedar and genuinely wanted to be at Aunty Dale’s sedar! Next year in Bubby Freda’s basement?  Aunty Dale’s Den?  There is something to say about that ‘once-a-year’ passover party and one may not recognize it until one is spending passover with 145 strangers.  Is it ironic that I felt like a stranger in a strange land?

In other news, I ask that you all go to this YouTube website. It is a video I made for my Bubby Ann on the occasion of her 70th birthday! (there is also a video tour of the kibbutz and some pictures at the end).  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yDg4o4A9F5I Happy Birthday Bubby (and Ian)!!!.

Oranim took us on a tour of Mt. Carmel, the Bahai Gardens, and a tribute to the Rothchild family.  It was fun!  See pictures for details.  AND OH!!  I held a snake… it might have been a King Cobra or a giant venomous python!  I wrestled it from a tree and saved my friends from near and certain death.  I later gave it some advil, a Nemo band aid and laid it back in it’s bed in the tree.  I named him Bugsy.

I am off to Tel Aviv for the weekend!!!  Happy Weekend 🙂

*fun can be a loosely defined word in this context. It can mean fun, dramatic, inspiring, asthmatic, entertaining or amusing 🙂

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 5:27 pm

    nice, justin – loved the video! beautiful scenery. enjoy. i’ll go send those introductory emails now! xox

  2. Dad permalink
    April 1, 2010 6:41 pm

    Wow! Sounds like the Sedar was alot of fun!

    Have a Great time in Tel-Aviv!

    Love U and miss U!

    Dad

  3. Miriam Sharpe (aka mOm) permalink
    April 1, 2010 8:18 pm

    Justin…. (sigh)
    animals YOU name Bugsy….
    they don’t always do so well….

    • Miriam Sharpe (aka mOm) permalink
      April 1, 2010 9:11 pm

      It seems that I am blog-mentally delayed.
      🙂 Second comment try…

      Justin, I’m sorry you missed us.
      I’m glad you missed us.
      We ALL missed you.
      Bubby Freda was thrilled to see and speak with you on Skype.
      Aunty Joanie was so pleased that you mentioned her Tzimis in your last blog entry that she is ready to send you tzimis by airmail.
      And your video…
      EXCELLENT!!!
      Hi Leore, Max, Jessica & Laurian (and Pie).
      Love you Justin! Enjoy yourself in Tel Aviv… MWAH!!!

  4. Bubby Ann permalink
    April 2, 2010 1:59 pm

    Hi Justin,
    Chag Sameach!!! Absolutely loved the pictures and info on this Blog. I really enjoyed reading about the Seder. Can you get the recipe for the potato side dish, if you liked it, it had to be delicious. The saying is, “same, same but different”. Every seder has its own flavour. We missed you at Aunty Dale’s and at the seder at my house, but also envied you for being in Israel, especially for Pesach. Next year in Jerusalem, took on a whole different meaning for us. Surprisingly, many Israelis are not religious/observant. It freaked me out when I was much younger and our Zionist’s group’s shaliach, Aryeh Ben Gurion, (who was David Ben Gurion’s nephew) had a roast beef sandwich with a glass of milk. Perhaps outside of Israel, one is more aware of keeping our traditions and customs in a more observant manner. On the other hand, when Israelis are giving their lives for our country,what canwe say??
    Thank you and your friends, soooo much for the incredible video and birthday wishes. It was such a wonderful and heartfelt surprise. The technology is unbelievable. Loved the tour of the kibbutz and your surroundings. It was beautiful to see so much greenery and a castle, too. WOW!!!! WOW!!! The best was seeing your smiling face and know that you are well and having an amazing experience in Israel. Justin meets the world and the world meets Justin is such an appropriate title.
    Have you completed the Ulpan course?? What will you be doing now???Looking forward to your next Blog about Tel Aviv. Chag sameach from me and Ian. Lots of love and hugs, Bubby Ann

  5. Bubby Ann permalink
    April 2, 2010 2:04 pm

    PS-from Mexico with first aid for a woman to Israel with first aid for a snake. Are we thinking of Doctors without Borders for a new career??? Hard to know what to choose when you have sooo many talents to share with the world. More love and hugs, Bubby Ann

  6. Noa Gabrielle permalink
    April 4, 2010 7:33 pm

    Hi Justin!!! That video was amazing. From the looks of the pictures, you seem to be having lots of fun (climbing trees, that is…)! My neighbour has a HUGE tree (with no branches) and sometimes she hooks up a harness (with lots of ropes and hooks and pulls and twists and…) and she… climbs the tree. My OTHER neighbour (Sophia, my best friend!!) and I climb her tree too. I like climbing trees… the ones with brances… but recently I broke my toe, so I’m climbingly impaired for a bit. Same with running normally. Walking is ok. Swimming is ok… says mom. I havn’t tried yet. Biking is ok. But I feel so helpless… blech! Say hello to Pi for me!!! I’m glad your seder was good, although I don’t see how 151 people could get through it in 2 hours. Ours took more than that for sure, and we had 17 people! Not to mention the fact that at least half the normal school day (of mine) is spent with teachers yelling at us to shut up. My class: 23 kids. (I’m the quiet one… ;)!!) Question: did you get through 8 glasses in one night??? (First four were hard, but the next four were easy…) Meh… First seder, glass one: Wine. Glass two and three: Sparkling grape juice. Glass four: (I think I skipped it…)!! Seder #2, glass one and two: wine. Three and four: grape juice. 🙂

    • Noa Gabrielle permalink
      April 4, 2010 7:35 pm

      Please, please PLEASE don’t hold snakes EVER AGAIN for fear of me having a heart attack. I hate snakes. Ew. And then you NAMED IT??? You’re not getting TOO connected to Bugsy, are you?? 😉

  7. Cally permalink
    April 11, 2010 3:40 pm

    wow, you are having some really crazy experiences in Israel, thanks for keeping us all updated!!!
    I hope you gave it to the Sweeds, Canada hockey rules!!!!
    You tried duck? seriously just your surprising us left right and center with the adventurous food your eating:)

    Thank you so much for making the kibbutz video for my class!!
    I know their going to love it 🙂

    looking forward to hearing about more of your experiences in eretz yisrael 🙂

    Have a great night!

Leave a Reply

