Skip to content

Having Fun in Tel Aviv

March 8, 2010

What does it mean to have fun?? In our DNA is there code telling us what is and is not fun or is it a way for the world to tell us that we should engage in some activity? I began pondering this question after 2 events occured. The first was when I went into a convenience store to get a coffee one morning in tel aviv before i left for the kibbutz.  I asked for black coffee and when he gave me a teeny cup I asked for a bigger one (their large was a tim hortons medium). I asked for milk and no sugar. The guy looked at the other employee and asked him in Hebrew “no sugar what’s wrong with him”. The other guy responded, “it’s nothing to die about- no sugar.” (it looses meaning in translation).

The second episode occured when I was walking along the beach in front of the king david continental hotel. This was a unique playground and answered lots of questions. This playground had mini work out machines. Shoulder presses, upper back machines, leg presses (see pictures). no swings, no see saws, none of those fun horses that you can swing back and forth on.

back to ‘what is fun’?  to me fun is having coffee in the morning when I’m tired… but is fun, to an israeli preteen, working out on the beach?  that question is rhetorical and i’d love your insight.  I did learn one very important lesson though… if you want to develop a nation of deadly assassins- begin their training early and get rid of the see saws!!!

On an aside, I just got to the kibbutz the other day, its beautiful!  Stay tuned for another post about it 🙂

Leave Comments!!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. elpee permalink
    March 10, 2010 4:54 pm

    hey, fun is in the eye of the beholder!
    are you sure these are kids’ exercise machines? in vancouver we have exercise equipment in some parks – one is labeled for seniors and it describes how to do the exercises safely.
    fun for me today would be to get rid of my cold.
    fun is a trip to israel for sure!
    in general though – fun is being with people you like/love and doing anything – sit on a beach and watch the sunset with a beer in hand; dance like a fool at someone’s bat mitzvah; eat a great meal – at home or at a restaurant; the common denominator for me is being with others.

    okay, except if i;m buzzing along a zipline or something.
    party on, justin!!
    xox

  2. Dad permalink
    March 10, 2010 4:55 pm

    Hi Justin!

    Try a double expresso, two sugars with milk! Not only will it wake you up but it’s delicious!

    I remember being 19, sleeping on the beach in Tel Aviv (you could do that then!) and when awake, doing chin-ups on the excersize equipment on the beach! And that was a loooong time ago! Good to see they have added a few new pieces of equipment! It’s not for the pre-teens Justin. It’s for You!

    Can’t wait to hear about Kibbutz life!

    Safe travels and g-d bless,

    Dad

  3. Toba permalink
    March 10, 2010 5:04 pm

    JUSTIN! I was just talking to Noah about you this morning wondering if anyone had hear from you- I guess your ears must have been ringing because here you are! I MISS YOU SO MUCH. 24 was on on monday and I couldnt help but wish you had been over to watch.

    Lol clearly the israelis are trying to get thier youngins ready for hte army at a young age and make it seem “fun”. That being said there is nothing more fun for me than the gym! lol- maybe I should have grown up on he beaches of Israel!

    CANT WAIT TO HEAR ALL ABOUT THE KIBUTZ!

  4. Noa Gurvis permalink
    March 10, 2010 6:02 pm

    Hi again.

    Everyone is different. Fun could be mowing the lawn, if that person enjoy’s having quality outdoor time. Or watching TV if the person is rather lazy and has nothing better to do.

    😀

    • March 10, 2010 6:20 pm

      Hey Noa,

      Thanks for the comment! Is your idea of fun doing laundry or making beds? because if it is, I am giving you an exclusive invitation to come hang out with me on the kibbutz 🙂

      -Justin

      • Noa Gurvis permalink
        March 11, 2010 8:01 pm

        I’m not much into doing laundry (I only do that because, as an 8th birthday present my parents taught me how to do my own laundry. BLECH!!!) but I don’t mind making beds. Unfortunately, I don’t have enough money to get me to Israel anytime soon. I’ll talk to my mom. Wish I was there, though! I have to go… lunch time! Enjoy the rest of your fantastical (I made that word up, I think…) trip!!!!! 😉

  5. Auntee Sandee permalink
    March 11, 2010 11:58 am

    Israeli life perspective surfaces through a coffee conversation! Love it! (“it’s nothing to die about- no sugar.” )
    Once again I find Canada in the middle ground.
    Ask for a Timmies here and you get one size. Go to the States and everything is supersized (our small doesn’t even exist there). Go to Israel and everything is smallersized.
    By the way – there’s the thought that it takes ‘three cups of tea’ to really get to know someone. Let us know if you go back to get coffee from that place again! Hugs, Mee

  6. Christen & Lauren permalink
    March 14, 2010 9:57 pm

    Hey Justin!
    Looks like you’re having an amazing time! We’re very jealous of the sunshine and sand! Keep us updated! Hope all is well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

