Skip to content

Another important blog: March 6th Edition

March 6, 2010

8:12 pm.

My flight left at 10:30 pm and my mom dropped me off at about 8:30, so whats a guy to do while waiting for a airplane?

You in the back, what do we do?

Go to the bar you say… that is correct.  While there I met this Indian guy named Roger who was travelling to Amsterdam for a wedding (not his!)  He has 3 kids and one of them is training 4 times a week in mixed martial arts.  I guess some kids dance, some kids play hockey, others mixed martial arts!

Hop on the plane, find myself sitting next to the most boring individual on earth.  he was flying to dublin through amsterdam to contribute to the governing body of the Irish Dancing Association.  interesting career choice, but I moved from the middle column of chairs to an open window seat before take off.  Irish dancing just isnt as appealing or interesting as 9 year old mixed marshal art assassins.

fast forward to amsterdam and I somehow stumble upon the train station and for 7 euros,  i get a return ticket to amsterdam city centre.  their train/ subway system is a little bit different then ours.  when a train leaves the station, it goes directly to its final destination- there are no intermediate stops along the way.  I didnt know that… and I narrowly missed getting on the wrong train.  What I mean is that the doors were closing and i thought to ask a guy if this train goes to the city centre.  before he responded ‘no’ i was sliding through the closing doors back onto the platform.  I have no idea where that train was actually going!!!

Amsterdam is a beautiful city, i went to the sex museum and while looking for the Heiniken museum (and getting lost twice) i stumbled upon the Ann Frank House.  While waiting in line (almost an hour), this conversation took place with a Vietnamese women who grew up in switzerland.

Her: “so your from Columbia?”
Me: “ummm… No. I’m from Canada” and I point to the really big cdn flag on my very visible knapsack.
Her: “but it says columbia on your jacket…?”
Me: “that’s the company that makes fleece jackets. I’m from canada”.
Her: “they have Colombian jackets in Canada?”

We toured the Ann Frank Museum together and then I BOLTED for the train station because my plane was leaving in 3 hours and with my luck I was sure to get lost again- which thankfully I didnt thanks to a nice German man.

A little about the Ann Frank house… wow!  I was very fortunate to (A) been able to find it and browse through it (B) hear some insight from someone with a very different background from me.

Many times she responded to a picture on the wall or a quote from the book with “we must never forget.”  Additionally, she also read the book while in school and told me that its part of the Swiss educational curriculum.  As a jew raised in the Jewish day school system, its really comforting to hear that stories like Ann Franks is still being told and is not removed as outdated for other, more contemporary, literature.

Today, I spent the day in the sun, on the beach in 25 degree weather (I’m not bragging, I swear!!)

Leave comments, please.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Toba permalink
    March 6, 2010 8:52 pm

    YAY you have made it and you are on your way! How EXCITING! As I woke up for work yesterday morning I couldnt help but wish I had gone with you. You did it right by the way… going to the ann frank house BEFORE the heiniken (even though you didnt make it). Kailey and I mistakingly did that combo a little backwards :S

    MISSING YOU ALREADY

  2. Cally permalink
    March 7, 2010 12:36 am

    Hey Just!!!!
    I’m so glad that you made it to the sun safe and sound
    ( we had nice sun today too, just not involving no jackets yet)
    I’m glad that your eyes and ears are open to so many different people and their experiences. I’m really looking forward to hearing more about them 😀
    Have a great day!!! we shall sykpe soon hopefully!

  3. Auntee Sandee permalink
    March 7, 2010 1:07 pm

    It’s all about stories and you’ve started off with a BOLT! Thankfully you caught the right train otherwise I might have to share my nickname of ‘Wrong Way Sharpe’, although had you taken the other train, I’m sure there would have been other stories! Since you’re on the beach – I’ll be going to the Canadian gym and sauna today (meaning I’m working in the sugar bush and the sugar shack!) Have fun 🙂

    • elpee permalink
      March 10, 2010 6:10 am

      Auntie Sandee – do you really know a thing or two about maple syrup? i need to discuss this with you!

  4. Dad permalink
    March 8, 2010 6:36 am

    WoW! What a start!

    If Ryan and I make it to Israel (which we are still looking into) we will be sure to see the Sex Museum, as well as the other outstanding sites Amsterdam has to offer! Kudos for leaving the airport! Life is not a spectator sport, says I 🙂

    Love and miss you lots!

    xo

    Dad

    P.S. Have you had an authentic falafel yet?

  5. Noa Gurvis permalink
    March 10, 2010 2:03 am

    Hi cousin,

    Israel… what fun!!! I’ve been only once and I had the best time!!! Your blog is very interesting and fun to use when passing time. I look forwards to you next posts!
    Enjoy the country!!!

    – Noa

  6. elpee permalink
    March 10, 2010 6:10 am

    Nice Justy! What did you think of Anne Frank’s toilet? 🙂

    • March 10, 2010 6:15 pm

      surprisingly… the ann frank toilet was quite decorative (referring to the physical toilet bowl). the bathroom itself was small.

Leave a Reply

